Home Muhammad Dar will become House Leader in the Senate today

Dar will become House Leader in the Senate today


ISLAMABAD: Senator Muhammad Ishaq Dar of the PMLN will become today (Tuesday) House Leader in the Senate in addition to the Federal Minister of Finance and Revenue.

He will be sworn in to members in the afternoon of the day and immediately after taking the oath he will assume leadership of the House by occupying the chair designated for House Leader. The Prime Minister is constitutionally the Leader of the House in both Houses of Parliament and he duly nominated Senator Dar to become the Leader of the House, the members of the ruling alliance having accepted the proposal of the outgoing Leader of the House, the Senator Azam Nazir Tarrar, who is also Federal Minister of Law and Justice.

Senator Azam Tarrar will continue as parliamentary leader of the PMLN group in the Senate. Senior parliamentary sources told The News here on Monday that Senator Muhammad Ishaq Dar would also be sworn in as a member of the federal cabinet within 24 hours of his accession to the Senate. He was appointed by the PMLN Quaid, Muhammad Nawaz Sharif as Minister of Finance and Revenue, Federal Deputy Minister, Dr Miftah Ismail, who had resigned the day before.

The notification regarding the acceptance of his resignation will be issued today (Tuesday), the sources said. Senator Ishaq Dar previously served as Leader of the Opposition in the Senate in 2012. He served as Leader of the Opposition from March 2012 to June 2013.

Meanwhile, the PTI-led opposition planned to stir up a stir upon the arrival and accession of Senator Muhammad Ishaq Dar. They will act on the advice of “Banigala” in this regard. They indicated at the House Affairs Advisory Committee meeting before the current session began on Monday that they had no objection to swearing in a member of the House, but Senator Dar objected. abstained from the House for five years and for the reason that he lost the right to become a member of it. At the same time, they assured that they would not create a heckling in the House on this occasion.

The committee includes leaders of the House parliamentary groups and it was chaired by Senate Speaker Muhammad Sadiq Sanjrani who will also swear the membership oath to Senator Ishaq Dar.

The Aiwan-e-Sadr was also informed of the senator’s swearing in and President Arif Alvi reportedly consented to the swearing in. A brief ceremony will be held at the Aiwan-e-Sadr for this purpose. The final schedule for the swearing-in will be announced today, the sources added.