Home Muslim religion UP Assembly sees increase in number of Muslim deputies

UP Assembly sees increase in number of Muslim deputies


Lucknow: The number of Muslim MPs has increased in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly, which has 403 newly elected members. The number increased by 12.

During the UP’s 17th Assembly, the number of Muslim deputies was 24 and has now risen to 36.

In percentage terms, newly elected Muslim MPs make up 8.93% of the state‘s total 403 legislators.

Some of the prominent Muslim deputies in the state are Mohd Azam Khan, his son Abdullah Azam Khan, Mukhtar Ansari’s son Abbas, and nephew Mannu.

Surprisingly, the number increased despite the fact that this time the SP fielded a much smaller number of Muslim candidates.

Muslim deputies at the top

Ten UP ministers fail to win their seats

Meanwhile, 10 ministers of Yogi Adityanath’s government failed to win their seats in the elections.

Even Sirathu Keshav’s deputy chief minister and BJP candidate Prasad Maurya lost to Pallavi Patel of the Samajwadi party by 7,337 votes.

Other ministers who do not retain their seats are

  1. Sugar Cane Minister Suresh Rana
  2. Chhatrapal Singh Gangwar, Minister of Revenue
  3. Rajendra Pratap Singh, Minister of Rural Development
  4. Minister of State for Public Works Chandrika Prasad Upadhyay
  5. Anand Swaroop Shukla
  6. Sports Minister Upendra Tiwari
  7. MoS Ranveer Singh Dhunni
  8. Lakhan Singh Rajput
  9. Basic Education Minister Satish Chandra Dwivedi.

Did Muslims vote for the BJP in the UP elections?

Muslim Rashtriya Manch (MRM), affiliated with the RSS, claimed that the BJP had managed to secure more than eight percent of the Muslim vote in the UP elections.

Hailing the victory of the saffron party in the UP, the MRM said the people of the state reject the “negative politics” of the opposition parties and rest their faith in the “Modi-Yogi style of governance”.

Previously, MRM activists had gone door to door in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarkhand. He had campaigned for the BJP in four states.

Asaduddin Owaisi’s reaction

All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) leader Asaduddin Owaisi, who fielded 100 candidates in UP polls, said he respects the public’s decision.

Dismissing the claims of some political leaders, Owaisi said the outcome of the result was not due to EVM’s fault. The party will continue to work within the UP, he added.

Stating that their morale remained high, the AIMIM leader said the party would also contest assembly elections in Gujarat, Rajasthan and other states.